20: Liebster Award: Or a little bit more about me

Leibster-award

My friend and talented blogger at Capturing the Charmed Life, Teresa, nominated me to take part in the Liebster awards – I am flattered and thankful I don’t have to accept something in person. You have all been spared a fantastic blushing face and I, a wicked headache.

The gist of the matter is Teresa asked 11 random fact questions about me and I am to nominate up to 11 other bloggers. But all my blogging friends have already done this and I am not a good participant at the best of times. I have quiet, subversive, rebellious tendencies (just ask my family). But I will not stop you from participating, so if you read this and have a blog I don’t know about consider yourself tagged. I like Teresa’s questions so just answer the same ones I did.

Here are my responses to her questions:

  1. What got you into blogging?

Flashback (to be read with quiet consternation) — The year was 2007 and I had four young children ranging in age from 2-7.  My days were filled with feedings, naps, laundry, and ten thousand other pressing daily needs, not mine.  My husband was not yet diagnosed with ADHD, he mostly resided in the basement working as best as he could undiagnosed with ADHD.  I was then in the first throws of our homeschooling adventure with one child who read when she was 4 and another telling me she didn’t need to learn to read. In a nutshell, money was tight, people’s opinions (including my own) of our situation were heavy and I was more than a little overwhelmed with everything.  I came to realize that I had spent years within the same four walls and my mind was becoming a very small, cramped up place filled with fears, anxieties, and troubles.  I was closer to relating to shut-ins than to the young woman who had moved to East Vancouver when she was 17 to go to University.  I needed to write it out, and I needed to feel like people were listening, that I wasn’t alone in it all — so Queenheroical was born.  It was my messy closet of thought spilling out and it helped me regain sanity and identity in that time.

Currently, I still have four kids (WHOOT!) but they are now 10-14 years old and my mothering is at a completely different stage, we have been homeschooling for 10 years (they all read!), and at 42, I blog in hopes of finding out what the rest of my life has in store for me.  These are the years no one prepares you for – the after marriage and kids years.  So I Chase the Glowing Hours and write poetry because I want to 🙂

  1. What is your hometown, and where have you travelled?

I was born in Terrace, BC.  Yup, the town everyone has lived in at some time and was glad to leave.  But honestly, I think it is a beautiful, rough-hewn place, with muddy wild rivers, and green forever.

I haven’t travelled much but I have lived in different places in BC; Terrace, Williams Lake, Prince George, Nanaimo, Vancouver, Kamloops.  I have been to the Oregon Coast and looked out over the Pacific Ocean, to Cavendish, PEI and looked out over the Atlantic Ocean, I have travelled by ferry along the inside passage down the coast of BC, driven through the Rockies and across the Prairies to Grenfell, SK to visit my lovely in-laws.

  1. What quote represents your philosophy in life?

The best way to help the world is to start by loving each other, not blandly, blindly, but realistically, with understanding and forebearance and forgiveness. –Madeleine L’Engle

That one is a longtime favourite but I love quotes – as my pins might tell you

https://www.pinterest.com/krinau/things-that-make-me-smile/

  1. What’s the first thing you do in the morning?

My sassy self wants to answer:  turn off the alarm, take my medication, take out my night guard and put on my glasses.  (Yes, all very romantic)

My best self says:  Lately, David and I have been getting up at 6:30am to go out walking before he goes to work.  It has been the best way to start my day.

  1. What’s the last thing you do at night?

Kiss my husband with my night guard in because he loves me just that much.

  1. If you were an animal, what would you be, and why?

An animal – I never like this question, I find it very hard. Today – I say a heron. They are mostly solitary, they like the water, and can fly.

  1. Why did you choose to have children?

Choose?  I can’t say — because it just was always a thing. I knew, given the opportunity, I would be a mother. David, thankfully, was on the same page. What I didn’t know was what it really meant, for my life, for my heart.  I had a very TV-ed notion of motherhood, thank goodness, it is a much richer, a more painful, and a much more faceted thing than that.

  1. What’s the ideal summer vacation location?

Currently, that would be a cabin/vacation home on a small gulf island overlooking the ocean where I would have a small desk for writing at, while my kids play down at the beach, and my husband snoozes in a hammock after reading a book. There would also be some very tasty treats on the table which had recently been procured from a local farmer’s market.

  1. What was one of the most meaningful life lessons you’ve gained from one of the most difficult experiences you’ve had?

Tough one– I think it must be that not getting the answers to big questions, no matter how desperately you want them or even need them, will not kill you.  As much as closure is important, it isn’t always an option and you will need to carry on despite all. This reality came to me on different fronts, the most impactful being the death of my father when I was 24.

  1. What are your goals for the year?

I am bad with goals.  I, both, admire the idea of them and loath the constraint I feel when I set them.  I need to look at them out of the corner of my eye so as to not spook them. Currently, I am working on feeding myself mindfully in hopes of obtaining a healthier body weight, and feeding my personal “passions” in hopes of building a future vocation.

  1. What is one of your happiest memories?

One moment times four – setting eyes on the faces of my children all bundled up in swaddling cloth fresh from the womb. Each was born via C-section and this is how each was presented. Every time, each face … the best moments.

IMG_2837

Leave a Reply

