Poetry Month: Writer’s Digest PAD challenge, Day 30: Bury the (fill in the blank) poem

(Do not) bury the past

Do not bury the past
So quickly,

Give pause the moment,
And let it sink in.
Look for the colours,
So grey to begin.

Look for the silver,
To shimmer then shine.
To give a new luster,
To days once benign.

Let go the hurt –
Yes – and the damning.
But hold to the truth,
Without the door slamming.

Burn not all bridges,
The road’s ever widening.
Find your own path,
Feel the weight lightening.

Watch to the end,
To where you have run.
You might be surprised,
How far you have come.

-Krina Ulmer

Well — that is that, the last one.  Kind of shmarmy but I just wrote 30 poems in 30 days and I am certainly sort of proud of that accomplishment so shmarmy it is.  What next?  I don’t know, I do know my husband will be sad if I stop.  I am not making promises instead I am looking for a plan I can actually live with and feel accomplished in.  I guess you will just have to wait.  In the meantime … what are you doing for your future self today?

One thought on “Poetry Month: Writer’s Digest PAD challenge, Day 30: Bury the (fill in the blank) poem

Leave a Reply

